I’m Back

An offseason with not much to talk about (other than Manny) plus a busy last couple of months equals no blog updates since November.  My problem is that I tend to prefer writing long articles and long articles take time to construct, proof-read, etc.  So I am going to take a different approach this year.  I’m going to try writing shorter articles on a more frequent basis.

As far as 2009 is concerned, on the field there hasn’t been a whole lot to talk about. The Dodgers are winning. They are winning with offense, winning with defense, winning with pitching, winning with Manny, winning without Manny.  The Dodgers have the best record in baseball.  There are not many weaknesses to point out or mistakes to criticize.  It’s tougher to blog during times like these but it’s a problem I’m willing to endure.

I know what you’re thinking and it’s something like, “Well, John.  Surely you have a lot to say about Manny and his 50-game suspension.” You may be surprised to hear that I don’t have much to say about it.  The reason is that I just don’t know enough about what Manny did to make any extensive comments. All I know is that Manny violated the league’s drug policy.  I know that he had elevated testosterone levels prompting a request of medical records on which it was discovered that he was prescribed a female fertility drug that was on Major League Baseball’s list of banned substances.  Outside of that, it’s all speculation. 

We can speculate that he was using the fertility drug to restart testosterone after a cycle of steroid use.  But when did he use steroids?  Was it recently? If it was recently, why was it not detected in previous drug tests?  Maybe he took steroids right after the last drug test but it was still in his system during the most recent test.  Has he been doing this every season?  If so, how did he pass 15 previous drug tests.  Maybe he found a way to use it in a way that was undetectable.  Maybe the drug tests are better and more reliable now.

You see what I’m getting at?  I don’t yet to know what to make of all this.  Was it a case of Manny using too much of something that resulted in high testosterone levels?  Was this a one-time thing or has Manny been cheating the system for years?  On one end of the spectrum, Manny is guilty of negligence and on the other end, he is a cheater.  Irresponsibility is a much easier pill to swallow that cheating (no pun intended).  Maybe he’s been doing it clean in the years since the drug policy was implemented but attempted to cheat this one time but got his hand caught in the cookie jar.  I don’t know.  I’m choosing to withhold my judgment until I have more information.

As for the Dodgers, they are doing okay without him and I believe the offense will continue to do well without him. The Dodgers have just wrapped up another win in Colorado as I write this.  

So, I’m glad to be back and hope to be posting often. 

  

Leave a Reply

